BREAKING: At Last, Buhari Sacks Service Chiefs, Names Replacements

1 1,644

President Muhammadu Buhari has replaced the country’s service chiefs.

His spokesman, Femi Adesina, made the disclosure in a tweet Tuesday afternoon.

Sponsored Ads

Sponsored Ads

He said the president appointed Maj. Gen. LEO Irabor, as the new Chief of Defence staff while Maj Gen I Attahiru was appointed Chief of Army Staff.

Sponsored Ads

Rear Adm AZ Gambo was appointed Chief of Naval Staff while AVM IO Alao was appointed as the Chief of Air Staff.

Also in a statement issued a few minutes ago,  Adesina said; “President Muhammadu Buhari has accepted the immediate resignation of the Service Chiefs, and their retirement from service.

“Those involved are the Chief of Defence Staff, General Abayomi Olonisakin; Chief of Army Staff, Lt-Gen. Tukur Buratai; Chief of Naval Staff, Vice Admiral Ibok Ekwe Ibas; and Chief of Air Staff, Air Marshal Sadique Abubakar.

“President Buhari thanks the outgoing Service Chiefs for what he calls their “overwhelming achievements in our efforts at bringing enduring peace to our dear country,” wishing them well in their future endeavours.”

The new Service Chiefs are: Major-General “Leo Irabor, Chief of Defence Staff; Major-General I. Attahiru, Chief of Army Staff; Rear Admiral A.Z Gambo, Chief of Naval Staff; and Air-Vice Marshal I.O Amao, Chief of Air Staff.”

“The President congratulates the new Service Chiefs, and urges them to be loyal and dedicated in the discharge of their responsibilities.”


  1. Abayomi Ojosegun says

    Congratulations to Nigeria on the removal of the old service chiefs and the new ones. It is hoped that the new appoints will make the desired change expected of them a reality and sanitize the moribund security system in the county. I wish them successful tenure in office.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.