Wazobia Reporters – we cover the nation | news | entertainment | education | foreign | business | sports

INEC registers 23 new parties, extends voter registration by two weeks

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has registered 23 new political parties.

In a notice on Tuesday, the commission invited chairmen and secretaries of the party to pick up their certificates at its headquarters in Abuja on Thursday.

This brings to 91 the total number of parties in the country.

INEC has also extended the ongoing continuous voter registration (CVR) exercise by two weeks.

The commission had said it would suspend the exercise on August 17 until after the 2019 general election.

Below is a list of the newly registered parties:


1 Advanced Alliance Party APP
2 Advanced Nigeria Democratic Party ANDP
3 African Action Congress AAC
4 Alliance for a United Nigeria AUN
5 Alliance of Social Democrats ASD
6 Alliance National Party ANP
7 Allied People’s Movement APM
8 Alternative Party of Nigeria APN
9 Change Nigeria Party CNP
10 Congress Of Patriots COP
11 Liberation Movement LM
12 Movement for Restoration and Defence of Democracy MRDD
13 Nigeria Community Movement Party NCMP
14 Nigeria For Democracy NFD
15 Peoples Coalition Party PCP
16 Reform and Advancement Party RAP
17 Save Nigeria Congress SNC
18 United Patriots UP
19 United Peoples Congress UPC
20 We The People Nigeria WTPN
21 Yes Electorates Solidarity YES
22 Youth Party YP
23 Zenith Labour Party ZLP

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.