Wazobia Reporters – we cover the nation | news | entertainment | education | foreign | business | sports

Fayemi wins Ekiti APC Governorship ticket

Minister of Mines and Steel Development, Dr. Kayode Fayemi, has emerged winner of the All Progressives Congress (APC) governorship ticketin Ekiti State.
Fayemi, who is also a former governor of the state, defeated thirty one other aspirants in the primary conducted at Damlek Event Centre, Oke-Ila, Ado-Ekiti,the state capital.
With the victory, Fayemi will be the party’s flag bearer at the July 14 governorship election.
The minister polled a total number of 941 votes to beat another former governor, Chief Segun Oni, to the second position in a shadow poll that arguably has the highest number of contestants in Nigeria in recent times.
The runner-up, Oni, who is also a former APC Deputy National Chairman (South), had 481 votes while Engr. Kayode Ojo received 281 votes to place third.
Votes polled by other aspirants are Mr. Femi Bamisile (179), Dr. Wole Oluyede (121), Senator Gbenga Aluko (86), Chief Sesan Fatoba (43), Mr. Bimbo Daramola (28), Mr. Bamidele Faparusi (23), Mr. Victor Kolade (16), Mr. Kola Alabi (14), Tosin Olofinluyi (14) and Senator Babafemi Ojudu (10).
Others are Otunba Yinka Akerele (11), Mr. Opeyemi Bamidele (11), Yinka Akerele (11), Chief Bisi Aloba (7), Dr.Wole Oluleye (6), Dr. Mojisola Yaya-Kolade (4), Mr. Bodunde Adeyanju (3), Dr. Bayo Orire (3), Senator Ayo Arise (2) and Mr. Muyiwa Olumilua (2), Mr. Ajayi Olowo (2), Mr. Muyiwa Coker (2),
Mr. Oladipo Ogunkoyode, Mrs. Elizabeth Matesun, Mr. Debo Ajayi, all got 1 votes each while the remaining aspirants failed to score any
Total number of invalid votes was 11.
As soon as the counting was concluded and it was obvious that Fayemi won, other aspirants moved to his direction to congratulate him at about 10.50 pm.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.