Wazobia Reporters – we cover the nation | news | entertainment | education | foreign | business | sports

Ekiti Women Day Celebration: Over 75,000 women get refund for Ankara fabric

Ekiti State Governor, Mr Ayodele Fayose has directed that over 75,000 women who paid N500 each for the Ankara fabric to celebrate the International Women’s Day last week Wednesday, but were unable to get the cloth should have the money refunded to them with immediate effect.

Special Assistant to the governor on Public Communications and New Media, Lere Olayinka, said in a statement issued in Ado Ekiti on Tuesday that a sum of N9.2 million was refunded to over 18,000 women groups between Monday, March 13 that the governor gave the directive and today (Tuesday).

He said the refund was being coordinated by Speaker of the State of House of Assembly, Pastor Kola Oluwawole.

“Provision was made for a little above 25,000 women, but surprisingly, over 100,000 women paid N500 each for the Ankara fabric.

“Many of the women were even willing to pay as much as N2, 000 for the cloth but the governor insisted that only N500 must be paid. And despite that they had to pay, over 100,000 women paid the N500 and that is a clear indication of how much Governor Fayose is loved by the people.

“Imagine people struggling to buy an Ankara fabric with the governor’s image and name printed on it.  That is the peak of demonstration of love for Governor Fayose by the women and the governor appreciates their support. That’s why he directed that those who could not get the Ankara fabric should be given back their money without further delay and that is already being done.

“Yesterday, market women, organised labour and other women groups from Ado Local Government got a sum of N4.9 million as refund, while women groups from Ekiti West, Emure, Efon and Ido/Osi Local Government areas are still being attended to today.

“On Wednesday, women groups from Ise/Orun, Gbonyin, Ilejemeje and Ikole Local Governments will be attended to while those from Ekiti East, Ikere, Ijero and Ekiti South West Local Governments will get their refund on Thursday. It will be the turn of Oye, Moba and Irepodun/Ifelodun local governments on Friday,” he said.



Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.